Guntersville Recap.

All I can say if you have never experienced Lake Guntersville you are missing out on the best bass fishing in the country.  Guntersville is an amazing place. There are so many bass in that lake in the 3, 4 and 5 pound range it is truly unreal. 

This week I did stay shallow.  Most all the guys were fishing the ledges and humps and for granted that was the winning pattern.  I tried to fish out deep a few times in practice bust just never got comfortable on any spot.  By heart I am a bank beater and shallow water is where I am comfortable.  So I went with my strengths and stayed shallow.   During practice I had some bream beds that were holding some monster bass. So my  game plan was to run those early and then run shallow docks and grass.  For some reason I could never get a big bite off the bream beds but the docks and grass worked out for me. 

I ended up in 19th place this tournament and I am very proud of that.  The reason being I went out and  fished my strengths and how I like to fish.  In A lot of tourney’s you get caught up in the dock talk and what every one else is doing.  If you listen to all that it will hurt you more than help you. 

The first day I kinda stubbed my toe a little and only had 15.2. I never missed any good ones, just never got a big bite. On Guntersville 15 pounds is nothing.  That put me in 86th after the first day.  I will admit I was a little down on myself.   I knew there were big fish shallow and I was determined to stick to my game plan.  The second day I came in with 22.14 pounds.  I just had an awesome day. I fished shallow throwing a jig and whacked em!!  That moved me up to 26th.  Day three I stuck to my shallow pattern and it was a different day. At 10:30 I only had 3 small fish and I got a little scared the shallow deal wasnt going to pan out. I decided to run hit one deep spot that I found in practice. I ran there and limited out in about 30 minutes and caught one in the 4 pound range.  After that I went back to my shallow stuff.  I ended up catching 2 in the 5 pound range after 1:00, I had to weigh in at 2 so I was cutting it close.  But thats the way they were biting.  It seemed the shallow bite got better for me after lunch time. The reason being is that once the sun got up and the temps hit the 90’s it positioned the fish where I could catch them.  Over all it was a great tournament and I’m happy how things turned  out.

The NC boys represented in this one.  We took 1st,3rd,9th,13th, and 19th place. Not to bad for the  nc gang.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment