Ouachita: Shallow or Deep?

It’s the final day of practice and now decision time.   After three days of on the water it’s hard for me to say what the pattern is going to be. The water here is up about 5 feet and its flooded bushes everywhere.   There is also an abundance of deep grass on the lower end of the lake.  I have tried to fish both and the results were not too good. I fished  deep for most of the day today and just never found that magical spot.  The local guys here should do well out deep. The key here is to find that sweet spot on the spot.  Meaning, there are hundreds of humps out there and hundreds of ledges. Each of these will have a little sweet spot.  The  problem for me is only having three days to find them, that’s a tough task. 

 I did go shallow this afternoon and the first day as well.  The bass are keying on bream and getting them to bite is sometimes a timing deal.  I will say this, I found enough  fish today shallow to win this tournament, but realistically I just don’t think they will bite. I did catch a 5+ today and I saw 4 or five over 6 pounds one pushing 8.  I was really amazed they were there and so many.  So needless to say I have to go after them in the tournament. If I can get lucky and figure out how to catch them it could be a great week.   The way I see it, I’m here to win so I might as well go for the big ones.   Check back in on Wednesday and I will post how Day 1 of the Tournament went.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment