Ouachita Day 1

Day 1 on Ouachita started off with an hour and half fog delay.  So instead of getting to start at 6:30 we blasted off at 8.  Needless to say my plans got changed quite a bit.   I was able to start the day off with a 3 pounder.  After that my day was pretty slow.  I basically went looking for the big ones.  I did find some, just getting them to bite was the problem.  At 12 I went into a place and found some HAWGS.  I caught one 5 pounder and lost 2.  A school of about 25 came up schooling and I just couldn’t get them to bite.  I definitely had my chances.  I missed three big ones that would have put me in the top 5.  I did manage to weigh in 3 for 9.2 pounds.  With the three I lost I should have had around 17.  There’s always tomorrow.  I just hope I can put them in the boat.  

18 pounds is leading after day one and from what I am hearing they are coming deep.  I think the guys are deep cranking but thats hearsay.  I do know one guy in the top 5 caught all his fish on a top water early.  I don’t think I will be doing any deep cranking  but I do have a few top waters tied on. 

Sorry if  I sound I a little frustrated, honestly I am.  As an angler it’s very tough when you just miss fish. When you have them hooked and they just come off its hard  to swallow.  It seems this year I have kinda been plagued by that problem.  Thats where the mental game comes into play. You really just have to make yourself move on and not dwell on the past. Sometimes that’s a hard thing to do. Especially when it keeps you from getting a 10,000 dollar check.  But you have to move on and not let it eat at you.   I will be trying to put today behind me and follow my own advice.  I’m still in striking distance and tomorrow will be a  better day.

Check back tomorrow and see how things go.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment